Jamb Suspends 10 Centres In Fct and 39 Others

The Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB) has suspended 49 Computer Based Test (CBT) centres from participating in the ongoing Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME).

The suspended exam centres which are spread across the country, of which 10 are located in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), incurred the wrath of the Board for failing to live up to expectations in ensuring a seamless examination.

According to JAMB’s weekly bulletin made available to newsmen in Abuja on Monday by its Head of Media, Dr Fabian Benjamin, 30 of the exam centres were suspended during the start of the exam last week while the other 19 got blacklisted during the registration’s exercise for the UTME.

The CBT centres were suspected as a result of technical deficiencies, inadequate number of functional computers, among other infractions.

The CBT centres located in Government Secondary School (GSS) Apo, GSS Gwagwalada, GSS Karu, Samkings International School, Karu, Brix Academy, Jabi, University of Abuja’s Distance Resource Centre, Kado, Model Secondary School, Maitama, were among the suspended centres in FCT.

Others are the CBT centre located in City Royal Secondary School, Nyanya, GSS, Wuse –Zone 3 and Government Day Secondary School, Karu.

A further breakdown of the suspended centres shows that Abia State has 5, Anambra-4, Bayelsa-1, Borno-3, Cross-River-2 and Lagos-2.

Nasarawa State also has 6 centres blacklisted, Ogun-1, Osun-1, Oyo-2, Rivers-1, Akwa Ibom-1, Benue-1, Delta -1, Ebonyi-1, Edo-4, Ekiti-1, Ondo-1 and Plateau-1.

Leave a Reply