Nigeria’s new cabinet inaugurated, president remains Petroleum minister

Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari has formally inaugurated his new cabinet following a successful re-election earlier this year.

The event took place at the presidency in Abuja where 43 ministers – substantive and ministers of state, took their oaths. According to the list, President Buhari maintained his position as Petroleum Minister, a post he has held since 2015.

A number of appointees from the last cabinet maintained their portfolios among others, Chris Ngige (Labour and Employment), Geoffrey Onyeama (Foreign Affairs), Babatunde Raji Fashola (Works and Housing) and Abubakar Malami (Minister of Justice).

The Nigerian Senate vetted and passed all nominees and passed all of them for appointment. Senators postponed their annual recess for a week to screen the nominees. Out of the 43 appointees, seven of them were women.

The female appointees and their respective portfolios are as follows:

  • Sharon Ikeazor – Anambra, Environment, State
  • Amb Maryam Katagum – Bauchi, Industry, Trade and Investment, State
  • Zainab Shamsuna Ahmed – Kaduna, Finance, Budget and National Planning
  • Ramatu Tijani Aliyu – Kogi, FCT, State
  • Gbemisola Saraki – Kwara, Transportation, State
  • Sadiya Umar Faruk – Zamfara, Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development
  • Dame Pauline Tallen – Plateau, Women Affairs

Leave a Reply